Freezer Turkey Burgers

Freezer Turkey Cheese Burgers

Original recipe taken from:  http://momonamission.me/?p=1301

This is how I made them:

Ingredients

IMG_0525

2 pounds ground turkey

2 medium size zucchini, trimmed and grated (about 2 cups)

3 cups of shredded cheese (I used sharp cheddar)

1/2 tsp of salt

1 tsp of onion powder

1 tsp. basil

1/2 tsp black pepper

2 tablespoons bread crumbs

freezer bag

foil or wax paper

Instructions

1. In a large bowl, combine zucchini, salt, onion powder, basil, pepper and meal or crumbs.

    • As you can see I did not follow the instructions completely…I just threw everything in my mixed and went with it!

IMG_0528

2. Add cheese and turkey and mix well.

IMG_0526

IMG_0529

 

This is what the mixture will look like when it’s all done. I made a double batch of this and I have to say, it’s not a good idea to do this in my mixer….it’s just too small. For the future I’ll be making 1 batch at a time.

IMG_0530

 

3. I used wax paper and cut them up in squares to put between the burgers. This made getting the burgers out of the freezer so easy!

IMG_0531

4. Form into patties

IMG_0532

5. Freeze each patty between sheets of foil or wax paper.

IMG_0533

6. Label and date freezer bag

7. Place the burgers in the bag and freeze

IMG_0534

Cooking:

I took the frozen patties right from the bag and put them in the skillet on the stove and cook until done. It maybe took about 10-15 mins to cook through. If they are thawed if won’t take as long. These were perfect for lunch.

Alternate forms of cooking are:

  • Grilling
  • Broiling:
    • Thaw before broiling and place on foil on broiling pan.
    • Slit the foil so the juices drip below.
    • Broil 8-10 minutes. Carefully flip burgers and continue to broil an additional 5-7 minutes or until burgers register 165 on an instant thermometer.

These tasted amazing and my 2 yr old ate an entire burger!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

