Breakfast Burritos

Original recipe taken from: http://cdm-arewethereyet.blogspot.com/2012/04/breakfast-burritos.html

This is how I did it:

Ingredients:

IMAG0110

1 lb. Pork Sausage

1 Pkg. Hash browns (The bag I found was very big so I used half a bag)

12 Large eggs

1/4 cup milk

1 pkg. shredded cheese (I used cheddar cheese and I didn’t use a whole package. I just sprinkled a little on top of each burrito)

salt and pepper to taste

1 to 2 pkg. flour tortillas (I use burrito size)

Directions:

#1 Brown sausage

IMAG0112
#2 Cook hash browns according to package directions.
IMAG0113
#3 While the hash browns are cooking – In a large mixing bowl, whisk eggs, milk, salt and pepper.
#4 Add browned sausage back to the pan with the cooked hash browns.
IMAG0114
#5 Add the eggs to the sausage mixture and cook until the eggs are done, stirring gently.
IMAG0115
IMAG0116
#6 After eggs are done – lay a tortilla on counter.  Place egg mixture on tortilla.  Top with cheese.  Roll into a burrito.
IMAG0117
#7 Depending on how many eggs you use and how large you make each burrito,  will determine how many burritos you will end up with.  I made about 23 burritos.
IMAG0118
#8 Wrap the burritos in plastic wrap.
#9 Then place the wrapped burritos in freezer zip-lock bags.
IMAG0119
#10 Place in freezer.

At this point, I put 1 bag in the fridge and keep them thawed and the other in the freezer.

To reheat the thawed burritos I place them in a paper towel and cook for 1 minute in the microwave.

If you want to cook a burrito from the freezer, it will take 1.5-2 minutes to heat.
These go very quickly in my house and since I have started making them my kids don’t miss breakfast. They are very good reheated and much better than buying a burrito from a gas station in the morning.

Thanks for reading and enjoy!

One thought on “Breakfast Burritos

  1. I made these for my daughter as she is a new mother and needed something quick. Needless to say she told me today she is out of them and needs more!! thanks so much for this it has certainly kept my daughter fed for a few weeks.

Leave a Reply

