Chicken Pot Pie (freezer meal)

Original recipe was taken from: http://www.freezerdinner.com/recipes/freezer-chicken-pot-pie/

This is how I did it:

Ingredients

IMG_0899

6 chicken breasts cooked and chopped (I used too much chicken and had left over mix, you could go down to 4 breasts)

4 medium potatoes, peeled and diced

2 cups sliced carrots (this recipe would be better if you used sliced carrots, I had a package of peas and carrots so I used that and it was still good, but we like more carrots)

1 cup butter or margarine

1 cup flour

2 1/2  teaspoons salt

1 teaspoon dried thyme

1 teaspoon pepper

3 cups chicken broth

1½ cups milk

1 cup frozen peas

1 can corn

4 pre-made pie crust in the refrigerated section at grocery store

Instructions:

1. Boil potatoes, carrot, and peas in stockpot

IMG_0902

IMG_0903

2. While veggies are cooking, boil your chicken as well. Mine usually takes about 30 minutes from beginning to end. It will take less time if you use less chicken.

3. Drain veggies and set aside

4. Once chicken is cooked and cooled, chop up in cubes and set aside.

5.  In a large pan melt butter (you can add onions and saute them in the butter if you like, I left this out since my family does not like onions). Once the butter is melted add your flour, salt, pepper, and thyme and mix.

6. Gradually stir in broth and milk. Bring to a boil; cook and stir for 2 minutes or until thickened. This part did not take long at all so make sure you are watching it.

IMG_0905

7. Add the sauce to the chicken, peas, carrots, potatoes, and corn and mix together.

IMG_0906

8. Line 1 pie crust to the bottom of your pan (this recipe makes 2 pies). I used oversized foil bowls it was easier and fit more mixture in the pies.

IMG_0900

9. Pour chicken mixture in the pie and top with the remaining pie crust. I cut 4 slits in the top pie crust.

IMG_0907

10. At this point you can wrap and freeze.

Cooking instructions:

Thawed –  Bake one pot pie at 425ºF for 35 to 40 minutes or until crust is lightly browned. Let stand for 15 minutes before cutting.

Frozen – Cover edges of frozen pie crust with foil; place on a baking sheet. Bake at 425ºF for 30 minutes. Reduce heat to 350ºF and bake for 70 to 80 minutes longer, or until crust is golden brown.

I had leftover mixture and pie crust so I decided to make 2 mini pot pies in ramekins. You can heat these just like the frozen pie. I have not made them yet, but I plan on starting them off with a smaller amount of time and watching them.

IMG_0908

This is what the finished pie looks like:

IMG_0909

IMG_0912

5 thoughts on “Chicken Pot Pie (freezer meal)

  1. Pingback: 50 Delicious Freezer Meals | Six Sisters' Stuff

  2. Love, love, love this pot pie recipe!! If you aren’t sure you want to make it, don’t be hesitant, it is soooo good!!! And I found this recipe on Pinterest.

  3. Thanks for your post! I’m making a ton of freezer meals for this next semester of nursing school – I have clinicals until 6 PM on Saturdays and I want to make it easy for my husband to “cook” dinner. I’m including this recipe in the list! 🙂

  4. I am planning to make two freezer meals out of this and I am wondering if it is necessary to cook the veggies before assembling the filling? Could it work to mix frozen veggies, cooked chicken, and the roux/sauce, fill the pies, then freeze? I wasn’t sure if it would compromise the consistency of the filling if the veggies were mixed in frozen. Thanks!

Leave a comment